Ridgley Hayes

Ridge

After completing the painting of Ruth, I didn’t know where to go or what I might paint next. Christmas was approaching and I was thinking of Christmas gifts for my kids. My #2 daughter, Miriam, is a photographer/media producer for Rotary International. She sees life through a lens and the stories of the people she photographs and interviews all over the world.

The photograph that this painting is based upon is a little closer to home. It is her firstborn, my second grandson, Ridgley Hayes.

The photograph was a black and white, making it an interesting watercolor / values study. It was done using two colors: French Ultramarine and Burnt Sienna. I gave the framed original to Miriam for Christmas and a giclee print to my other daughter Ruth. And, of course, I had to have one made for myself as well. Because the beauty of all this, is that if no one else ever sees or appreciates this painting,  I LOVE IT!

2 thoughts on “Ridgley Hayes

Leave a Reply

