PureWatercolour Easter Challenge

Several months ago I joined a very friendly and encouraging (free) online website hosted by Patrick Ley-Greaves (of youtube fame) called PureWatercolour (www.purewatercolour.com), where there is a forum for chatting and exchanging ideas, and many many helpful tutorial videos for the beginning watercolorist. Every couple of months there is a challenge. This one was to paint 14 paintings over the course of 14 days from a list of themes. This was indeed a challenge as I am very slow and although none of the paintings is good in its own right, I got some good sketches for later work and I learned to go faster 🙂

My first was a plein air sketch of a favorite spot of mine:

Bridge Closed Sketch

This bridge has been out for as long as we have lived here and longer. Folk just like it that way. At one time the bridge crossed this little creek called Augusta Creek. Now it’s just a nice quiet spot to sit and pray. There’s not much traffic with no bridge to the other side. I will later develop this into a painting.

50 years - Senior Moment

As turned out to be the case with several of the paintings that I did for this challenge. Next was “50 Years” done for the theme “senior moment.” It is a portrait I am working on for my daughter-in-law of her Grandparents who passed away last fall. This is the rough draft and it is indeed Rough! I’m sure you will agree once you have seen the finished product.

 

 

Painted Rocks Painting

The next little painting was a color experiment for the theme “the color of magic” and I chose the Painted Rocks of Northern Michigan. dripped paint. It was at least fun:

 

Into Perspective

This next one was silly, but I had so much lovely paint left in my palette from my painted rocks that I did not want to waste so I painted “Looking into my Palette” for the “Into Perspective” theme. I took a lot of artistic license in interpreting this theme, I admit.

 

 

Insect

This next little painting was for the theme “Insects.” I love moths, they are so beautiful. But, I don’t love working small. This painting is 4″ x 4″ which was a huge challenge for me . . . AND I need to work on my backgrounds. The darks are done with a mix of Indanthrene Blue, Cadmium Red, and burnt umber.

 

fire and ice

 

The Land of Fire and Ice – where Neflheim meets Muspelheim and Norse creation begins. This was fun!! for the theme “Earth, Wind and Fire.’ Lot’s of color and experimentation with techiques I’d never tried before, like plastic wrap!

 

Love is in the Air

 

And the last painting for week 1 was for the theme “Love is In the Air.” I sent this to Ruthie as a card for encouragement as she begins her busy season at work. Another very small painting. This completed the first week and I am exhausted but pleased that I am keeping up with the pace.

 

Easter Challenge WEEK TWO:

This week is going to present a particular challenge because I am getting ready for my Spring Break and getting my Grandsons to keep with me while their mom is in Pakistan on assignment with Rotary for two weeks. So I try to stay ahead and get done early.

Child's Play2

This first painting for the theme “Child’s Play” is done from a photo by my daughter Miriam of her youngest son Charlie and his friend Lula playing at the beach. I have wanted to paint this and this is the practice version. I don’t know how to do the shoreline wave. But, I think I have a better idea now and an about to start on the finished painting.

 

venicepainting

Painting #9 for the theme “reflections” I thought it was Venice, but my daughter who took the picture just informed me that it is Rovinj, Croatia. They call it Little Venice. I actually really love this one and will give it to Abigail as a gift once it’s framed.

 

 

AbigailPainting

Painting #10 is kinda funny but totally recognizable. For the theme “Trains, Planes and Automobiles” I decide to do this portrait of Abigail. And I can tell you, I am slow as molasses in winter when painting a portrait. So this was an added challenge of doing a portrait in less than 30 minutes. I tried. It’s rather cartoonish and doesn’t do her justice. Again, this might get painted later.

Equine

 

 

For painting #11, the “Equine” theme, I did a copy of a painting of a favorite artist of mine, Hazel Soan. Ummmmm, her’s is much better. But, I’d like to do more silhouette work.

 

 

mammal

Ok, we’re almost done. Painting #12 for the theme “mammals” I did this painting from a photo found online of a Cheetah! I gave it to my grandson, but he left it here so he must not have been very impressed 🙂 Admittedly, she looks a bit threatening.

 

Down to the wire here for painting #13, themed “stormy seas.” This started out as an experiment for the theme “Space the Final Frontier.” I wanted to try layering the washes with cellophstormy seasane, drying completely between washes, growing darker each time. I think I did four layers, adding Prussian blue in the last two to really darken it up. In the third wash I also used salt, the effect of which was intensified by the last wash and cellophane. But, I decided it looked more like it could be made into a better “stormy sea and sky scene”, so I went that way with a little Chinese white and some yellow in the sky. A fun experiment with new stuff. I actually like this one.

low tide painting

And last and finally!!! painting #14 for the theme “low tide” and I’m going to post it just as a show of humility ( an oxymoron ). But, this painting was a disaster. I was using the wrong paper that got mixed up with my Arches stash. And I had never worked on this paper before. Very different.

 

And that ends the Easter Challenge with PureWatercolour. They run these challenges every couple of months and they really are great for just getting you painting. The mini challenge for this month is “Interiors.” Come join us! There are accomplished artists and those just beginning, all posting their paintings for encouragement and community.

 

Leave a Reply

